Chocolate City Climate Change

Growing up in Washington D.C., there were always thunderstorms in the summer months. We used to sit in the basement and let the rumble of these storms pass by. Yet, lately, especially this year, the storms coming through the city and the surrounding D.C. area are fierce. They are unlike any storms I experienced. It is also true that though it gets hot in Washington D.C., 104 degree days are unheard of in my day.

I used to relish having a summer job on the hot playgrounds of the city (My father was in charge of personnel for the D.C. Department of Recreation). because it was hot but it was still such a thrill. It was incredible playing tennis, basketball, swimming in pools, and then cooling off in the city. Those days are magic.

Friday’s storm was not magic. It was a tragedy. People died. Cars were crushed. Two million have no power. Houses were hit with trees.   I keep saying climate change is here. People laugh at me. One friend says I must be one of those kooky liberals.  I tell him I am not a liberal and that climate change is real. We are seeing the future. We can change it. Stop driving your car so much. Recycle. Don’t run the A/C so much. Go get a book on how to reduce your carbon footprint and reduce it. Don’t be stupid. These storms are not normal. Act accordingly.

Leave a comment