I Want to Go to Istanbul…

istanbul-02-bOne day, I will go to Istanbul. I do not know why. Years ago, my wife bought a cookbook about Turkish cooking. I began to experiment and make some of the dishes. Leeks with rice. Shepherd’s Salad. Raisin Muffins. Lamb Burgers. Mussels and Pearl Onions. Lentils. The food was extraordinary and I imagine it was probably better if it was cooked by someone from Turkey who cook the dishes regularly. I just followed the recipes and did my best. The dishes are very similar to Greek cuisine or Middle Eastern cuisine. Almost a hybrid. Very light dishes, prepared simply, but also using fresh ingredients.

The Shepherd’s Salad is a case in point. It is described as a dish eaten by shepherds out doing their work. Thus, the ingredients would be fresh. The dish only requires onions, red and green peppers, cucumbers, olives, olive oil, and lemon, and salt and pepper to taste. Fabulous.

I started reading literature on Istanbul. Fiction and non-fiction. Mostly, I am reading Orhan Pamuk’s memoir, “Istanbul,” which is all about growing up and never leaving the city. Considering just three years ago, I decided to leave my birthplace Washington D.C., the only city I had ever known, the book speaks to me in a special way. I understand now why it was so difficult and why some days, I long to come back.

I am also trying to get an understanding of the culture and the history. Turkey is the Ottoman Empire for those who don’t know and the fall of that empire is directly related to the way the world is organized today.  The Ottoman Empire was in effect for more than six centuries dating back to 1299.  I have been told it is a Eurasian city, giving it a unique identification in the world. It is neither European or Middle Eastern; it is Istanbul.

The fact that the Ottoman Empire did collapse should be a lesson to those of us living in the United States. It is said the empire reached its zenith in 1590. That is less than 300 years.  From that point on, the decline began.  The U.S. should think hard about that especially decisions being made now relating to the economy, political structures, and social relations. I personally see mistakes being made daily across the board in the U.S. by all of the politicians. One set of politicians are lost in some glorious past that never existed but are fighting like hell for it. Another set do have a vision for the future but are unwilling to fight hard for it.

But enough of that. This is about Istanbul.

I have never been there except in the food I cook and books I am reading. For now, that is enough. The smells, the tastes, and the words I read.  Living in a strange place (Michigan), it is important to dream of other places strange but more desirable. It brings great joy on the bad days.

Leave a comment